The Malta Government has updated its list of ineligible candidates from applying for citizenship by investment program (IIP).

As per the new announcement by IIP Agency, nationals of these 15 high risk countries (13 these countries are part of  US visa ban) will not be able to apply for Individual investor program (IIP)

NIgerians and Kyrgyz nationals are also blacklisted from apply for Maltese citizenship program.

Here is the latest updated list:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Chad
  3. Eritrea
  4. Iran
  5. Kyrgyzstan
  6. Libya
  7. Myanmar (known as Burma)
  8. Nigeria
  9. North Korea
  10.  Somalia
  11.  Sudan
  12.   Syria
  13.  Tanzania
  14.   Venezuela
  15.   Yemen

Malta has blacklisted these countries to honor visa waiver commitments with the United States.

Under the updated US travel ban imposed in Feb 2020, Nigerians, Burma, Eritrea and Kyrgyz nationals are banned from applying for US immigrant visas while other countries are blacklisted from applying for both immigrant and non-immigrant visas. Sudan and Tanzania restricted to only diversity visas under the  present Trump administration.

Malta joined the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) in 2008, one of the 39 countries eligible to enter United States.  Maltese citizens may apply to travel to the United States with ESTA for business or leisure trips of up to 90 days, as a part of Visa waiver program . The VWP applies to all territories of the United State of America, including Puerto Rico, Guam, and the US-Virgin Islands. The ESTA is designed to screen each traveler for law enforcement or security risks.

Under the VWP rules, travelers in the following categories are no longer eligible to travel or be admitted to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP):

  • Nationals of VWP countries who have traveled to or been present in Iran, Iraq, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Libya, Somalia and Yemen on or after March 1, 2011 (with limited exceptions for travel for diplomatic or military purposes in the service of a VWP country). Nationals of VWP countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, North Korea, Sudan, or Syria.
  • As of April 1, 2016, it is a must for VWP applicants have an e-passport to use the VWP
  • Another condition to qualify for the Visa Waiver Program, all the 39 countries must have had a nonimmigrant visa refusal rate of less than 3% for the previous year or an average of no more than 2% over the past two fiscal years with neither year going above 2.5%