The IMA Grenada has updated its list of seven countries whose nationals are blacklisted for citizenship by investment program in Grenada according to a Circular No. 1 of 2024 dated March 25, 2024. The new rules will apply starting from April 1, 2024

List of Countries/Nationalities ineligible to apply for citizenship

  1. Iran
  2. North Korea
  3. Russia
  4. Belarus
  5. Sudan
  6. Yemen
  7. Afghanistan


The above country nationals are allow to apply by meeting the following conditions.

  • They were born in these restricted countries but migrated before the age of maturity and/or have maintained permanent residence, or valid visa approval in Canada, the United Kingdom, Schengen member states, the United States of America, Australia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates, for a period of not less than 10 years.
  • They maintain no economic ties to any restricted country.

Due Diligence providers are able to conduct in-country Enhanced Due Diligence/on the ground investigation (which may come at a significantly higher cost to the applicant) in the country of birth.

1. Iran
2. Sudan
3. Yemen
4. Afghanistan