Latvia allows limited dual citizenship only with the selected list of 37 countries. Among these countries are EU/EFTA states, US, UK, Australia, Brazil, Canada etc. Citizens of Latvia who have acquired citizenship of another country are required to notify, following Article 15 of the Register of Natural Persons, about acquiring citizenship of another country. Children of citizens of Latvia have to make a choice between citizenship of Latvia and citizenship of the unpermitted country by the age of 25.  One important distinction for immigrants who apply for Latvian citizenship through naturalization are required to renounce previous citizenship (dual citizenship not allowed)

The amendments to the Citizenship Law of Latvia which came into force on 1 October in 2013, citizenship of Latvia may be retained for persons who have acquired:

  • Citizenship of another EU Member State or another EFTA Member State;
  • Citizenship of another NATO Member State;
  • Citizenship of Australia, Brazil or New Zealand;
  • Citizenship of such a country with which Latvia has concluded an agreement on the recognition of dual citizenship (no such agreement concluded);
  • Citizenship of a country not referred to previously if due to important national interests permission from the Cabinet is received to retain dual citizenship;
  • Citizenship of a country not referred to previously if it has been acquired automatically (ex lege) through marriage or as a result of adoption.

List of Accepted Countries

 EU member StatesAustria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.
EFTAIceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland
NATOAlbania, Bulgaria, Belgium, Croatia, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Germany, Hungary, Lithuania, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United States and United Kingdom
OtherAustralia, Brazil, New Zealand

Source: PMLV