The Cabinet of the Government of St. Kitts and Nevis voted to replicate and implement in full the sanctions imposed by the European Union, United States and United Kingdom against hundreds of named Russian and Belarussian individuals and entities.

In solidarity with US and European efforts to isolate the Russian government for its military invasion, the CBI has implemented a pause on citizenship application files from all applicants from Russia and Belarus irrespective of whether or not they are on the sanctioned list. This pause is effective immediately, according to the official announcement by CIU St Kitts and Nevis.

On March 2, 2022, St. Kitts and Nevis voted in favour of the UN General Assembly resolution demanding Russia immediately end its military operations in Ukraine. St. Kitts and Nevis has joined other nations to impose tough international sanctions against Russia and Belarus for its brutal war of aggression against Ukraine.

A St. Kitts and Nevis government spokesperson said: ‘We condemn in the very strongest terms the unlawful aggression of the Russian Federation against the people of Ukraine. The Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis is therefore choosing to implement the devastating and punitive sanctions announced by our Western friends against Russia. We stand with Ukraine and reaffirm our support for free democracies everywhere.’

St Kitts and Nevis has joined other OECS caribbean countries in implementing the blacklist supporting western sanctions under citizenship by investment scheme.

The Government is committed to protect the reputation and integrity of the CBI programme in the federation. The CBI Unit will continue to work closely with its Due Diligence companies to ensure that Russian and Belarussian names are continually being monitored against these sanctioned lists and to note any changes that may occur in the future.