The Commonwealth citizenship is acquired by virtue of holding citizenship of any Commonwealth member state.

A Commonwealth citizen is not regarded to be a foreign citizen, or alien, by another respective Commonwealth government. This tradition descends from the older ‘British subject’ designation – though nothing but name has changed with regards to this concept other than name. Commonwealth citizens are technically British subjects; they can avail of the support of a British embassy or court in a country where their own nationhood is not represented.

Citizenship by investment schemes offer a supplemental commonweal citizenship. Further, an individual would automatically lose the status if that person is no longer a citizen of any Commonwealth country.

Which CBI countries offer Commonwealth Citizenship?

These are the eight countries that offer commonwealth citizenship  as a supplemental citizenship, through citizenship by investment (CBI) schemes

  • Malta
  • Cyprus
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Vanuatu

Here are some of the important benefits available for commonwealth citizens.

  • All Commonwealth citizens may receive consular assistance from British embassies and consulates in foreign non-Commonwealth nations where their home countries have not established diplomatic or consular posts. They are eligible to apply for British emergency passports, if their travel documents have been lost or stolen and permission has been given by their national governments.
  • In some member states, they may also be issued non-passport travel documents when they are unable to national passports
  • Citizens of Commonwealth countries retain the right to vote in General Elections and a number of local elections.  Commonwealth citizens can have their say and their opinion will be appreciated In the United Kingdom.
  • Many Commonwealth citizens still hold British passports; it is also far easier for Commonwealth citizens to immigrate to the UK than non-Commonwealth citizens.
  • Most of the Commonwealth countries have visa free access to visit United Kingdom for upto six months for business, tourism and family visit.

Commonwealth Members

There are 53 members of Commonwealth,of which 31 are small states covering roughly 1.5 million people.

AfricaAsia Caribbean / AmericasPacific
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Gambia, The
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of eSwatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka


  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • United Kingdom
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Lucia
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Right to Vote

The following jurisdictions allow citizens of other Commonwealth countries to vote:

  •  Antigua and Barbuda*
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Dominica*
  • Grenada*
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis*
  •  Saint Lucia*
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • Gibraltar (only for European Parliament elections)
  • Guernsey
  • Isle of Man

* Citizenship by Investment (CBI)