Each country has its own nationality laws and there are many ways to apply for nationality in a country, either by birth, marriage, descent, naturalisation or marriage. Some countries like Austria, Cyprus, St.Kitts even grant citizenship by monetary investment in their country.  Dual nationality has been in much of the debate over the years. Much of the developed countries such as US, UK, Australia, Switzerland have no restrictions on holding dual nationality, whereas countries such as Singapore, Austria, India, Saudi Arabia do not “recognize” or “restrict” dual citizenships, leading to automatic loss of citizenship upon acquiring other. Some countries such as Austria, Spain may still grant dual citizenships upon certain special conditions under exceptional cases like celebrities..

We have compiled the list through our extensive research of dual citizenship information in various countries. Please keep in mind that countries amend nationality laws from time to time and is subjected to change:


Acceptance of dual nationality is observed in these countries.

Afghanistan Allowed
Albania Allowed
Algeria Allowed
Angola Allowed
Antigua and Barbuda Allowed
Argentina Allowed
Armenia Allowed
Australia Allowed
Azerbaijan Allowed
Bahamas Allowed
Bangladesh Allowed
Barbados Allowed
Belarus Allowed
Belgium Allowed
Belize Allowed
Benin Allowed
Bolivia Allowed
Bosnia and Herzegovina Allowed
Brazil Allowed
Bulgaria Allowed
Burkina Faso Allowed
Burundi Allowed
Cambodia Allowed
Canada Allowed
Cape Verde Allowed
Chad Allowed
Chile Allowed
Colombia Allowed
Comoros Allowed
Congo, Republic of the Allowed
Costa Rica Allowed
Croatia Allowed
Cyprus Allowed
Czech Republic Allowed
Denmark Allowed
Djibouti Allowed
Dominica Allowed
Dominican Republic Allowed
Ecuador Allowed
Egypt Allowed
El Salvador Allowed
Eritrea Allowed
Fiji Allowed
Finland Allowed
France Allowed
Gabon Allowed
Gambia Allowed
Georgia Allowed
Germany Allowed
Ghana Allowed
Greece Allowed
Grenada Allowed
Guatemala Allowed
Guinea-Bissau Allowed
Guyana Allowed
Haiti Allowed
Honduras Allowed
Hungary Allowed
Iceland Allowed
Iran Allowed
Iraq Allowed
Ireland Allowed
Israel Allowed
Italy Allowed
Jamaica Allowed
Jordan Allowed
Kenya Allowed
Kiribati Allowed
Kosovo Allowed
Kyrgyzstan Allowed
Latvia Allowed
Lebanon Allowed
Lesotho Allowed
Liechtenstein Allowed
Luxembourg Allowed
Malawi Allowed
Maldives Allowed
Mali Allowed
Malta Allowed
Marshall Islands Allowed
Mauritius Allowed
Mexico Allowed
Micronesia, Federated States of Allowed
Moldova Allowed
Mongolia Allowed
Morocco Allowed
Mozambique Allowed
Namibia Allowed
Nauru Allowed
New Zealand Allowed
Nicaragua Allowed
Niger Allowed
Nigeria Allowed
North Macedonia Allowed
Norway Allowed
Palau Allowed
Palestine Allowed
Panama Allowed
Paraguay Allowed
Peru Allowed
Philippines Allowed
Poland Allowed
Portugal Allowed
Romania Allowed
Russia Allowed
Rwanda Allowed
Saint Kitts and Nevis Allowed
Saint Lucia Allowed
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Allowed
Samoa Allowed
Sao Tome and Principe Allowed
Serbia Allowed
Seychelles Allowed
Sierra Leone Allowed
Slovakia Allowed
Slovenia Allowed
Solomon Islands Allowed
Somalia Allowed
South Africa Allowed
South Sudan Allowed
Sri Lanka Allowed
Sudan Allowed
Swaziland Allowed
Sweden Allowed
Switzerland Allowed
Syria Allowed
Taiwan Allowed
Tajikistan Allowed
Timor-Leste Allowed
Togo Allowed
Tonga Allowed
Trinidad and Tobago Allowed
Tunisia Allowed
Turkey Allowed
Turkmenistan Allowed
Tuvalu Allowed
Uganda Allowed
United Kingdom (of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) Allowed
United States of America Allowed
Uruguay Allowed
Uzbekistan Allowed
Vanuatu Allowed
Vatican City State Allowed
Venezuela Allowed
Vietnam Allowed
Yemen Allowed
Zambia Allowed


The Limitations for dual nationality (citizenship) is observed in these countries.

Country Dual Citizenship
Andorra Not Allowed
Austria Restricted
Bahrain Not Allowed
Bhutan Not Allowed
Botswana Not Allowed
Brunei Not Allowed
Cameroon Not Allowed
Central African Republic Not Allowed
China Not Allowed
Congo, Democratic Republic of the Not Allowed
Cote d’Ivoire Not Allowed
Country Dual Citizenship
Cuba Not Allowed
Equatorial Guinea Not Allowed
Estonia Not Allowed
Ethiopia Not Allowed
Guinea Not Allowed
Hong Kong (SAR) Not Allowed
India Not Allowed
Indonesia Not Allowed
Japan Not Allowed
Kazakhstan Not Allowed
Kuwait Not Allowed
Laos Not Allowed
Liberia Not Allowed
Libya Not Allowed
Lithuania Not Allowed
Madagascar Not Allowed
Malaysia Not Allowed
Mauritania Not Allowed
Monaco Not Allowed
Montenegro Restricted
Myanmar Not Allowed
Nepal Not Allowed
Netherlands Restricted
North Korea Not Allowed
Oman Not Allowed
Pakistan Limited
Papua New Guinea Limited
Qatar Not Allowed
San Marino Not Allowed
Saudi Arabia Not Allowed
Senegal Not Allowed
Singapore Not Allowed
South Korea Restricted
Spain Restricted
Suriname Not Allowed
Tanzania Not Allowed
Thailand Not Allowed
Ukraine Restricted
United Arab Emirates Not Allowed
Zimbabwe Not Allowed


Pakistan allows dual citizenship only with the below countries

  1. United Kingdom
  2. Italy
  3. France
  4. Belgium
  5. Iceland
  6. Australia
  7. New Zealand
  8. Sweden
  9. United States
  10.  Ireland
  11.  Netherlands
  12.  Switzerland
  13.  Canada
  14.  Egypt
  15.  Jordan
  16.  Syria


Allows dual citizenship with some Latin-American countries Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay, Andorra, Portugal, the Philippines and Equatorial Guinea.

Disclaimer: The above information may change from time to time. Please check with concerned embassy with issue of dual citizenship