Home Comparison Articles FAQs Contact us

Dual Citizenship Countries

Each country has its own citizenship laws and there are many ways to apply for citizenship in a country, either by birth, marriage, descent, naturalisation or marriage. Some countries like Austria, Cyprus, St.Kitts even grant citizenship by monetary investment in their country.

Double/Dual citizenships has been in much of the debate over the years. Much of the developed countries such as US, UK, Australia, Switzerland have no restrictions on holding dual nationality, whereas countries such as Singapore, Austria, India, Saudi Arabia do not "recognize" or "restrict" dual citizenships, leading to automatic loss of citizenship upon acquiring other. Some countries such as Austria, Spain may still grant dual citizenships upon certain special conditions under exceptional cases like celebrities..

The following are list of countries which allow and do not allow dual citizenships. We have compiled the list through our extensive research of dual citizenship information in various countries. Please keep in mind that countries amend nationality laws from time to time and is subjected to change:

Dual Citizenships Allowed:

Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Bangladesh, Canada, Cyprus, United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, South Korea, South Africa (requires permission) , Egypt(requires prior permission), Greece, France, Finland, Germany (requires prior permission), Iraq, Italy, Israel, Ireland, Hungary, Iceland, Sweden, Slovenia, Syria, Serbia, Armenia, Lebanon, Malta, Spain ( allows only with certain Latin american countries), Tonga, Phillipines, Romania, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka (by retention), Pakistan (accepts only with 16 countries), Portual, Turkey (requires permission)

Dual Citizenships Not Allowed

Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan ,Burma, Bahrain, Botswana, Japan, China ,Czech Republic, Denmark, Fiji,India,Indonesia, Ecuador, Estonia, Iran, Poland, Papua New Guinea, Brunei, Japan, Peru, Kuwait , Kenya, Kazakhstan, Chile, Kiribati, Poland, Korea, Kuwait, Denmark, Latvia, Singapore, Slovakia, Ecuador, Lithuania, Solomon Islands ,Fiji ,Malaysia, Mauritius, Netherlands, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Thailand, Mexico, Nepal, Venezuela, Norway, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, Myanmar, Nepal

Disclaimer: The above information may change from time to time. Please check with concerned embassy with issue of dual citizenship


Pakistan allows dual citizenship only with the below countries
  1. United Kingdom
  2. Italy
  3. France
  4. Belgium
  5. Iceland
  6. Australia
  7. New Zealand
  8. Sweden
  9. United States
  10. Ireland
  11. Netherlands
  12. Switzerland
  13. Canada
  14. Egypt
  15. Jordan
  16. Syria


Allows dual citizenship with some Latin-American countries Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay, Andorra, Portugal, the Philippines and Equatorial Guinea.


Useful Links to Official Govt Websites

The following are some of the useful links to Govt websites of various countries, to know about the dual citizenship:

Australia: http://www.citizenship.gov.au

United States: http://www.travel.state.gov

Canada: http://www.voyage.gc.ca/publications/

United Kingdom: http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/

Sri Lanka: http://www.immigration.gov.lk

Cyprus: http://www.mfa.gov.cy/mfa/

Tonga: http://www.mic.gov.to

Trinidad Tobago: http://ttcgtoronto.gov.tt

Sweden: http://www.sweden.gov.se

Ghana: http://mint.gov.gh

Phillipines: http://immigration.gov.ph

Sierra Leone: http://www.diasporaaffairs.gov.sl

Latvia: http://www.mfa.gov.lv/en/

Hong Kong: http://www.immd.gov.hk

Malta: http://www.foreign.gov.mt

Barbados: http://www.foreign.gov.bb

Georgia: http://www.president.gov.ge

Botswana: http://www.mofaic.gov.bw

Norway: http://www.udi.no

Switzerland: http://www.ch.ch

Denmark: http://www.nyidanmark.dk

Belgium: http://www.diplomatie.be/

Luxembourg: http://washington.mae.lu/

Lithuania: http://www.lrkt.lt/

Bangladesh: http://www.bdcgny.org 

Disclaimer: This website is not affiliated to or endorsed by Government(s) or official sources. We assist clients for paid services with document preparation and filing, housing and real estate, tax advice, liaison and investments. More specific information about the programs are available with the Govt websites of respective countries. The information contained in this website is based on general purpose only and it does not meant to substitute qualified legal or professional advice given by a specialist knowing your particular situation. We do not accept for any loss or damages whether direct, incidental, indirect, special, or consequential, among others, relating access to this Website. No part of this site may be reproduced in any form or by any means, without our prior written permission. All other works are copyrighted works of our partners, which had been reproduced with prior permission .Terms & Conditions